The Lavoisier medal

Since the 7th conference the ISBC has presented the Lavoisier Medal to an internationally acknowledged scientist for an outstanding contribution to the development and/or the application of direct calorimetry in biology and medicine.

Winners of the Lavoisier Medal

1990: Ingemar Wadsö / Lund, Sweden
1992: Richard B. Kemp / Aberystwyth, UK
1994: Lee Hansen / Provo, USA
1997: Ingolf Lamprecht / Berlin, Germany
1999: Anthony E. Beezer / London, UK
2001: Lena Gustafsson / Göteborg, Sweden
2003: Erich Gnaiger / Innsbruck, Austria
2006: Mario Monti / Lund, Sweden
2010: Edwin Battley, Stony Brook NY, USA

The obverse of The Lavoisier Medal displays the portrait bust of Antoine-Laurent Lavoisier (1743-1794) with the legends THE LAVOISIER MEDAL FOR CALORIMETRY and PRESENTED TO while on reverse is the famous Lavoisier ice calorimeter together with the legends ISBC and “THE FIRE OF LIFE” – the title of Max Kleiber’s famous book (London, New York 1961) on biological calorimetry and animal energetics.

1 – 4 June 2014 Lund, Sweden

Welcome to the city of Lund and Lund University for the XVIII ISBC conference on Biological calorimetry, which will be held in Lund, Sweden, 1 – 4 June, 2014.

We invite you to present your research on calorimetric studies of biological phenomena. Topics include (but not limited to): Biotechnology, Biomolecules, Biothermodynamics, Environmental sciences, Health sciences, Food science and Instrumentation.

We have chosen “Biocalorimetry of the future” as the motto of the conference, indicating that we look forward to many presentations of new types of instruments and methods.